The Pennsylvania Legislature recently passed amendments to Pennsylvania’s Driving Under the Influence law. These changes take effect on July 6, 2012.
The new law increases the grading and penalties for individuals convicted of driving under the influence when at the time there is a minor under 18 years of age in the vehicle at the time of the violation. Such an offense will be graded as a misdemeanor of the first degree. Along with the increase in the grading of the offense the penalties associated with the presence of a minor in a vehicle at the time of the violation have also increased. In addition to any other penalties imposed, a first offense will result in a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000.00 and the requirement to complete 100 hours of community service. A second offense under this scenario will result in a minimum fine of $2,500.00 and imprisonment of not less than one (1) month nor more than six (6) months. For a third or subsequent offense, the individual must undergo imprisonment of not less than six (6) months nor more than two (2) years.
If you or someone you know is arrested and charged with driving under the influence, it is important to retain a qualified attorney as soon as possible.
Gavin Laboski has extensive experience both as a former Deputy District Attorney and now as a criminal defense attorney representing individuals charged with driving under the influence.